Sarah Maycock

Sarah Maycock is another illustrator that often uses ink. Her strong, fluid lines give her work a sense of life and movement. I especially admire her series of animals which show this technique off well. In them, she suggests the shape of the animal with broad brush strokes, adding detail only to key areas of the illustration. I particularly like the effect of these contrasting marks.

I found there wasn’t a huge amount of information on Sarah Maycock, other than her own website and the agency that represents her. In general there seems to be less information on illustrators than painters and other artists. I’m not sure why; perhaps because their work is produced for a client or for commercial purposes more than other forms of art.

What I did discover however, was some advice for aspiring illustrators. In it she mentions that she often uses paint brushes from B&Q for large works (I’m a big fan of using everyday objects and cheaper materials rather than expensives supplies). She also mentions the importance of getting your work seen: Entering competitions, holding exhibitions, self publishing and art fairs. And improving how people look up your work  online. This has inspired me to create a dedicated website for my illustrations where I can showcase my recent work.

References

Handsome Frank Illustration Agency (n.d.) Sarah Maycock [online] Available from: https://www.handsomefrank.com/illustrators/sarah-maycock [accessed 1.11.18]

Sarah Maycock (n.d.) Sarach Maycock [online] Available from: https://sarahmaycock.co.uk [accessed 1.11.18]

Leave a comment